Hi! I started seeing Gossip Girl some weeks back, thanks to Netflix. That thing is tiring, you people that watched the 6 seasons are the real MVPs. Anyway after getting bored, I decided to see Drop Dead Diva, and it’s way better than that drama-filled Gossip Girl.

I’ve always heard about the 5 stages of grief, but while watching Drop Dead Diva, it was mentioned, so I went to Google to read more about it. Then I saw the 5 stages of love and I forgot about grief lol. I’m just going to share excerpts from the article that I found interesting the most and you can read it in full here.

Stage 1: Falling in love

You meet this new person. You talk for a while but it just doesn’t feel enough. You feel like there’s something more to this random meeting. So you ask them out on a date/you go out on a date with them. One date leads to a few more. Everything changes around us when we fall in love—not physically, but emotionally and spiritually—we see things differently, our temper becomes mild, patience rises and imagination expands. Falling in love will not only bring a positive change in your mood and make you appreciate the little things in life, but also make you want to be the best person, to be likeable. You will work on yourself every minute of the day, and eventually leave behind the things they do not like for the sole reason of falling in love.

Stage 2: Coming closer as a couple

In stage two, your love starts to really grow. You start to feel like the initial excitement, laughs, and romance are gradually evolving into a deeper and even more meaningful connection. This new person has taken over your life. They’re in your thoughts. They’re in your dreams. They’re in your everyday life. The things you used to do alone now involve them too, even if they are not present in the moment because your mind is always revolving around them. It does go on in other stages too but is the strongest here, since all the feelings and emotions are new and so is your interest in them. This is the stage where some couples decide to move in together or even get married. It’s the stage where both of you are extremely sure about everything, where you feel that this love will definitely last a lifetime.

Stage 3: Getting disillusioned 

All the confusion and uncertainty that accompanies love tends to be the main theme of stage 3. This is the stage where one or sometimes both the partners start to feel unsure about what direction their relationship is going to take. This is the stage where you feel like things are starting to fall apart and where everything about this relationship starts to feel wrong, without any specific reason. You find yourself getting angry and resentful about the smallest things. You feel like there’s very less love and intimacy left in your relationship and you start to feel hopeless. All you want to do is bring back the passion, the initial spark or just any kind of chemistry but you just don’t know how to do it. A lot of talking helps in this stage. Passing stage 3 is not an easy task. Very few couples have the potential to survive this stage but when they do, their relationship ends up getting even stronger and they start to feel more in love than ever before.

Stage 4: Working on a true and lasting love

Once you pass the hard times of stage 3, stage 4 acts as the much-needed reward. The essence of resolving your issues lies in the ability to understand that nobody in this world is perfect. Your partner has lived their entire life with their own share of insecurities, faults and imperfections and so have you, therefore it is in the interests of both of you to accept those insecurities, faults and imperfections and move on to lead a happy life with them. When you want to work on building a true and lasting love, it is necessary for you both to help each other grow, to help each other leave behind all your fears, and to help each other heal all your past wounds. Stage 4 will be when the rough, doubtful times will be over, and you will have learned what love actually is.

Stage 5: Taking on the world with your love

The world is not an easy place to live in. But when you find and build a true and lasting love with someone, you reach this final stage of happiness, this stage where no amount of negativity and no amount of stress can ever bring you down. Because the only thing that truly matters is the fact that you’ll always have this one amazing person by your side.The last stage of love is the first and happiest stage of a strong and healthy relationship. It teaches you how every problem can be dealt with and every hindrance cleared off with the power of love. Believing in each other and never letting go is essence of all the five stages.

There are several articles about the stages of love in marriages.

image – http://www.eharmony.co.uk


Comments are closed.

Pin It